We use cookies on our website to personalize your experience, to conduct analytics, and to provide targeted online advertising. For more information and to opt-out of cookies, please see our Privacy Policy
Close Mobile Menu

Praise

Named one of Brightly’s Best YA Books Being Published in 2021

“It’s a dark and distorted mirror of our own extremely strange times, perfect reading for anyone who wants to feel seen without necessarily needing to be looked at.”—Shondaland

“I read this in a single, compulsive sitting. A fantastically smart, funny, and thoughtful thriller about how our devices manipulate and exploit our closest relationships.”—Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything and The Sun Is Also a Star 

“At once thought-provoking and hilarious, This Is Not the Jess Show is a timely, incisive book so masterfully-plotted you won't want to put it down.”—Tahereh Mafi, New York Times Bestselling author of the Shatter Me series and A Very Large Expanse of Sea 

“Nostalgic, romantic, thrilling, and with an exciting twist, I devoured This Is Not The Jess Show and didn't want it to end!”—Sara Shepard, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Pretty Little Liars and The Lying Game  

“A thrilling and thought-provoking ride.”—Kirkus Reviews 

This is Not the Jess Show goes deep in exploring how people live their lives and create their own realities—sometimes at a cost.”—Foreword Reviews

“The fast-paced, intricate plot ramps up Jess's paranoia and frustration, both of which are vividly expressed through her first-person narrative.”—Booklist

“A fun and thoughtful thriller; this YA novel will please fans of E. Lockhart and Kiera Cass.”—School Library Journal

“Fast paced and thrilling.”—Bulletin for the Center of Children's Books

“This young adult foray offers up surprising plot twists that keep you riveted and reading quickly, with the clever unfolding plot paralleling Jim Carey’s The Truman Show.”—Mom Central

Book Description

“At once thought-provoking and hilarious, This Is Not the Jess Show is a timely, incisive book so masterfully-plotted you won't want to put it down.”—Tahereh Mafi, New York Times best-selling author of the Shatter Me series and A Very Large Expanse of Sea

“A fantastically smart, funny, and thoughtful thriller about how our devices manipulate and exploit our closest relationships.”—Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything and The Sun Is Also a Star

The year is 1998: Titanic just won 6 Oscars, boy bands are dominating MTV’s airwaves, and like any other teenager Jess Flynn is just trying to survive high school. Between a crush on her childhood best friend, overprotective parents, and her sister’s worsening health, the only constant is her hometown of Swickley, which feels smaller by the day. Jess is resigned to her small-town life, until the day she discovers a mysterious device with an apple logo, causing her to question everything and everyone she’s ever known. As more cracks appear in Jess’s world, she faces a choice: can she live the rest of her life knowing it’s a lie or should she risk everything for the truth?
 
A fast-paced, mind-bending YA thriller packed with ‘90s pop culture references and perfect for fans of Black Mirror, This Is Not the Jess Show will keep readers guessing until the very end.

About the Author

Product Details

  • Hardcover ISBN: 978-1-68369-197-6
  • Paperback ISBN: 9781683692652
  • e-Book ISBN: 978-1-68369-198-3
  • Page Count: 
    304
  • Release Date: 
    February 1, 2022
  • 14 and up

More From The Author

Thanks for joining the Quirk fam! We can't wait to geek out with you.

Or subscribe and set genre preferences

By clicking subscribe, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Quirk Books’ Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.