Our Blog

Recommendations and Resources from Flora Ahn for AAPI Month

Looking for ways to celebrate Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month today and every day? Check out this roundup of resources from Flora Ahn, author of A Spoonful of Time and the upcoming A Brush with Magic!

Posted by Gaby Iori

Preorder SUCH A BAD INFLUENCE!

“Packed with trenchant critiques of internet celebrity and topped off by a satisfyingly nasty finale, this leaves readers wanting more from Muenter.”—Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

Submit your preorder receipt to receive a friendship bracelet*, bookmark, and a signed bookplate!

*Friendship bracelet available while quantities last. Conditions may apply. You must be 18+ to enter this preorder campaign. US only. Promotion ends 6/11/24. For full Official Rules, see bottom of page.


How do I submit my receipt?
Send Quirk Books a photo of your Such a Bad Influence receipt using the Google form linked below. (Note: please make sure your full name, book title, and the date purchased are all visible on your receipt.)

If you have trouble uploading your receipt to the Google form, please send an email to [email protected] with the requested information and include [SABI Preorder Campaign] in the subject line.

We will send you your items once the campaign is closed after June 11, 2024.

All receipts must be dated June 4, 2024 or earlier and submitted by 11:59pm EST on June 11, 2024. Please note that it may take a few weeks after the campaign closes for your items to be shipped.

Submit your receipt here!

About the Book

For fans of Ashley Winstead, Jessica Knoll, and Jo Piazza, an electric debut thriller about what happens when one of the first child stars of the social media age grows up . . . and goes missing.

Hazel Davis is drifting: she’s stalled in her career, living in a city she hates, and less successful than her younger sister, @evelyn, a mega-popular lifestyle influencer. Evie came of age online, having gone viral at five years old for a heart-tugging daddy-daughter dance. Ten years older and spotlight-averse, Hazel managed to dodge the family YouTube channel—so although she can barely afford her apartment, at least she made her own way.

Evie is eighteen now, with a multimillion-dollar career and unlimited opportunities, but Hazel is still protective of her little sister and skeptical of the way everyone seems to want a piece of her: Evie’s followers, her YouTuber boyfriend and influencer frenemies, and their opportunistic mother. So when Evie disappears one day—during an unsettling live stream that cuts out midsentence—Hazel is horrified to have her worst instincts proven right.

As theories about Evie’s disappearance tear through the internet, inspiring hashtags, Reddit threads, podcast episodes, and scorn, Hazel throws herself into the darkest parts of her sister’s world to untangle the threads of truth. After all, Hazel knows Evie better than anyone else . . . doesn’t she?


OFFICIAL RULES


IMPORTANT
: Please read these Official Rules before entering the Such a Bad Influence Gift Preorder Campaign (the “Preorder Campaign”), presented by Quirk Books (“Sponsor”). By entering the Preorder Campaign, you agree to the terms of these Official Rules. These Official Rules shall govern in the event of any inconsistency with other Preorder Campaign-related materials.
RETAIL ONLY. THIS CAMPAIGN REQUIRES PURCHASE FOR ENTRY.
ELIGIBILITY: The Preorder Campaign is open to residents of the fifty (50) United States and the District of Columbia and Canada who are 18 years of age or older at time of entry. All federal, state, and local regulations apply. LIMIT ONE ENTRY PER PERSON. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED OR RESTRICTED. Employees of Sponsor, its parents, subsidiaries, affiliates, suppliers, and agencies, and their immediate family members and persons living in their household are not eligible to enter the Preorder Campaign.
ENTRY PERIOD: The Preorder Campaign begins at 11:00 AM (ET) on Friday, April 12, 2024 and ends at 11:59 PM (ET) on Tuesday, June 11, 2024.
HOW TO ENTER: Online entry only. Enter by completing and submitting the entry form as instructed at https://forms.gle/rYFekEr1tfqkB9TS8. If you have trouble uploading your receipt to the Google form, please send an email to [email protected] with the requested information and include [SABI Preorder Campaign] in the subject line.
In the event of a dispute, entries will be deemed made by the authorized account holder of the email address used for entry. Automated entries are prohibited, and any use of automated devices will result in disqualification. Sponsor is not responsible for incorrect or inaccurate entry of information by entrants; lost or late entries or transmissions; interrupted or unavailable network, server, or other connections; scrambled transmissions or other errors or problems of any kind whether mechanical, human, or electronic, technical malfunctions of any computer hardware, software, or any combinations thereof; or problems associated with any virus or any other damage caused to entrants’ systems. Incomplete or illegible entries will be voided. All entries become the property of Sponsor and will not be returned.
Comments and/or posts including photographs or videos may not include obscene, offensive or inappropriate (in Sponsor’s sole and absolute discretion) material or defame any person, or otherwise infringe on any person’s proprietary rights. If you are posting a photograph or video, you must have permission from the photographer/videographer (or be the photographer/videographer yourself) and have permission from any persons who appear in the photo or video before submitting it.
PRIVACY POLICY: All information submitted in connection with entry to this Preorder Campaign shall be governed by Sponsor’s privacy policy (at https://www.quirkbooks.com/page/privacy-policy). By entering this Preorder Campaign, you acknowledge that you have read and agree to this privacy policy.
PRIZE:
Every entrant who proves they have preordered a copy of Such a Bad Influence by June 4, 2024 will receive the following, while quantities last:
1. A “Bad Influence” friendship bracelet (quantity: 200)
2. A bookmark (quantity: 350)
3. A signed bookplate (quantity: 500)
Quirk Books will be checking receipts and will deem entrants as disqualified if requested information is missing from entry. Please note that it may take a few weeks after the campaign closes on June 11, 2024 for items to be shipped.
Actual value of prize may vary. No transfer or cash or other substitution of all or part of a prize is permitted, except by Sponsor, which reserves the right, in its sole discretion, to substitute the prize or prize component with another of comparable or greater value. Any and all taxes on the prize will be the responsibility of the entrants. Sponsor shall not be responsible for any cancellations, delays, postponements, substitutions, changes in services, damage in the delivery of the prize, and/or loss of any prize in connection with delivery of the prize via mail. In the event that there is an insufficient number of eligible entries, Sponsor reserves the right not to award the prizes.
Entrants may also be required to complete, execute and return an Affidavit of Eligibility and Release. Noncompliance with these conditions may result in forfeiture of the Prize, and Sponsor reserves the right to select alternate entrants (from other eligible, qualified entries received before the deadline) in such circumstance. If entrant notification of the Prize is returned as undeliverable, Sponsor may, at its discretion, select an alternate entrant.
DISCLAIMERS/LICENSE: By competing in this Preorder Campaign and/or accepting the prize, entrants agree that Sponsor, and its respective parent companies, assigns, subsidiaries and affiliates, and advertising, promotion and fulfillment agencies and all of their respective employees, officers and directors will have no liability whatsoever, and will be held harmless by entrants for any liability for any injuries, losses, or damages of any kind to person and property resulting in whole or in part, directly or indirectly, from the acceptance, possession, misuse, or use of the prizes, or participation in this Preorder Campaign.
To the extent allowed by law, participation in the Preorder Campaign in any way, or acceptance of, or participation in, any prize constitutes each entrant’s consent for, and grant of a non-exclusive, sub-licensable and assignable license to Sponsor to use, publish, post or display entrant’s name, social media handles, likeness, photograph, voice, opinions, statements, as submitted in connection with the Preorder Campaign, and prize information, regardless of whether altered, or used alone or with other material, in Sponsor’s sole discretion, for promotional, advertising, and publicity purposes in any medium now known or later discovered, worldwide and in perpetuity, without review or approval, and without further notice, payment, or consideration of any kind. All rights, consents and licenses granted to Sponsor under these Official Rules and/or any Affidavit of Eligibility and Release will survive the termination of this Preorder Campaign.
RIGHT TO MODIFY OR CANCEL: Sponsor may cancel, suspend or modify the Preorder Campaign or any part of it, in any way, if Sponsor determines in its sole discretion that the Preorder Campaign is not capable of executing as Sponsor intended, or that any error, omission, fraud, technical failure, tampering, computer virus, or other factor, technical or otherwise, beyond Sponsor’s reasonable control, impairs or may impair Sponsor’s ability to properly conduct the Preorder Campaign, subject to any applicable law or regulation.
In the event of any inconsistency between these Official Rules and any disclosure or other statement contained in any Preorder Campaign-related materials, these Official Rules will govern.
DISPUTES: Any dispute arising from this Preorder Campaign will be determined according to the laws of the State of Pennsylvania, without reference to its conflict of law principles, and by entering the entrants consent to the personal jurisdiction of the state and federal courts located in Philadelphia County and agree that such courts have exclusive jurisdiction over all such disputes.
SPONSOR: Quirk Books, 215 Church Street, Philadelphia PA 19106

Posted by Gaby Iori

Women in Horror Q&A with Horror for Weenies Author Emily C. Hughes (Plus an Excerpt)

Horror for Weenies by Emily C. Hughes goes on sale September 3, 2024.
Preorder your copy!

Posted by Quirk Books Staff

Women in Horror Q&A with Leslie J. Anderson

The Unmothers by Leslie J. Anderson goes on sale August 6, 2024.
Preorder your copy!

Posted by Quirk Books Staff

Women in Horror Q&A with Lisa Kröger and Melanie R. Anderson

Ready to Grow your TBR list?
Purchase Monster, She Wrote wherever books are sold!

Posted by Quirk Books Staff

Women in Horror Q&A with Jenny Kiefer

Purchase your copy of This Wretched Valley, available wherever books are sold.
P.S., the dog lives.

Posted by Quirk Books Staff