Our Blog

What’s Your Grief?

A friendly and accessible book of 75 lists that will help anyone experiencing a change or loss—for readers of Maggie Smith, Cheryl Strayed, and Katherine May—from the creators of the popular What's Your Grief website and community.

Losses, big and small, turn your world upside down. What’s Your Grief? will help you through all of them.
 
Many life changes need to be grieved, from the loss of a loved one to the loss of a job, from a breakup to a relocation, and all the rest of life’s ebbs and flows. In What’s Your Grief?, mental health professionals Eleanor Haley and Litsa Williams help you examine, investigate, and move through the complex but universal experience of grief.

Through seventy-five engaging, informative, and accessible lists, such as to-do (and not-to-do) lists, bucket lists, interactive lists, and more, you’ll discover:

• 5 Little-Known Truths About Grief
• 4 Reasons Guilt Is Even More Complicated Than You Think
• 9 Tips for Communicating What You Do (and Don’t) Need
• 7 Common Defense Mechanisms
• And much more

There’s no single way to experience grief. But this unique book will help you move through whatever it looks like and feels like to you.

Posted by

Good Sh*t

It's time to talk sh*t—literally—with this relatable and humourous interactive handbook that will help you conquer the (ceramic) throne so you can conquer your life.

If you grew up in the Western world, you were probably taught that poop is gross. Unspeakable, even. But it’s a waste to think of poop as a waste. Bags under our eyes tell us we’re not getting enough sleep. Sallow skin, thinning hair, and brittle nails tell us if our diets are imbalanced or if we're overstressed. Poop tells us all of that—and much more. 
 
This friendly and conversational handbook teaches you how to think of poop as a useful gauge of overall health, and helps you track the effects of simple lifestyle adjustments with:
 
    A seven-day tracker to observe your current poop health.
    Insights on the impact of diet, exercise, sleep, and stress on your poop, with tips for making improvements in all areas.
    Journal prompts that help you analyze behaviors that lead to good and bad poops.
    A 21-day tracker to help you see the positive impact of lifestyle changes on your poop over time.

Posted by

Little Kid, Big City!: London

If you could have an adventure in London, where would you go? Curious kids will find plenty of sights, smells, and tastes to explore in this illustrated pick-your-own-path travel guide series.

Would you hop on the Tube to visit Buckingham Palace, find a tasty lunch on Brick Lane, or pass the time with Big Ben? Follow along with a family of two Black moms, their adventurous daughter, and her adorable corgi as they explore London. Create your own itinerary and choose which places to visit at the end of every page. Whether you’re an armchair traveler or a real-life tourist, there are dozens of ways to explore iconic sights, venture to nearby locales, and wander off the beaten path.

In this second book in the Little Kid, Big City series—in which travel guides collide with an interactive format—kids are empowered to imagine, create, and explore their own routes through the world’s greatest cities. Featuring intricate illustrations, a diverse and lovable cast of characters, an invaluable resources section, and a fun foldout map, Little Kid, Big City!: London has everything you need to invent your own adventure!

Coming in Spring 2022, Little Kid, Big City!: Paris
 

Posted by impart

The Wild World Handbook: Habitats

Packed with real-life tales of adventure, breathtaking illustrations, and practical tools, this handbook is an inspiring guide for the next generation of climate activists, conservationists, and nature lovers.

The wonder of the natural world surrounds us—from the Amazon rainforest to the snowy peaks of Mount Everest to the green spaces in big cities. And as the threat of climate change grows, it’s more important than ever to show appreciation for our planet by taking action.

The first book in a middle grade series for young environmental activists and nature lovers, The Wild World Handbook offers a roadmap for change and an invitation to explore the outdoors, alongside surprising facts and hands-on STEAM activities. Featuring nine habitats from around the globe, each section includes diverse biographies of outdoor adventurers, scientists, and artists who used their passion and skills to become bold allies for Earth’s natural diversity and resiliency.

Inside you will find:

• Nine Amazing Habitats
• Eighteen Inspiring Biographies
• Nine  Kid-Friendly DIY Activities
• Nine Fun Field Trips
• And much more!

It’s up to us to protect this beautiful, awe-inspiring planet we call home!

Posted by impart

The Fangirl’s Journal for Leveling Up

A companion to The Fangirl’s Guide to the Universe, this guided journal by Sam Maggs includes prompts, interviews, and illustrations to help you get in touch with your dreams, plans, and faves.

Fandom is an excellent way to discover who you really are. Your OTPs, NOTPS, and even OT3s actually say a lot about you, if you’re willing to listen hard enough. With this journal, you can examine your current fandoms, explore new ones, and even push the boundaries of your own creativity. Start your very own transformative works with prompts for fanfic and fanart, fill checklists for what to watch or read next, learn definitions of fandom terms, and read wisdom from your favorite geeky gals.

The Fangirl’s Journal encourages you to be your very best, strongest, loudest, and nerdiest self–and helps you figure out exactly who that might be along the way.

Posted by impart

Crystal Clear

From amethyst to obsidian, Basic Witches author Jaya Saxena explores the multi-faceted meanings and history behind eleven popular crystals in this relatable personal essay collection.

Highly prized for their beauty, crystals can take the shape of jewelry, household objects, and an array of self-care products. But it's the ideas they stand for that draw people to their raw forms. Like astrology, tarot, and modern witchcraft, crystals help practitioners understand themselves and the wider world around them.

In this collection of sharply observed essays, Jaya Saxena reflects on–and challenges–the ideas associated with eleven popular stones, including unconditional love (rose quartz), happiness and success (citrine), balance (amethyst), self-care (black tourmaline), purity (pearl), imposter syndrome (pyrite), toxic positivity (carnelian), change (opals), traditional concepts of marriage (diamonds), presentation versus identity (obsidian), and death (amber).

The result is a deeply personal book with universal appeal, exploring how we assign meaning and power to crystals in order to give meaning and power to our lives.

Posted by impart