A Letter to our Authors, Readers, and the Publishing Community... Read Our Statement
Close Mobile Menu

[Photo by Rich from Pexels]

This month, we’re celebrating a true powerhouse in contemporary film: Jon Favreau. His birthday is in October, and we’re over here celebrating, wishing him many more as we eagerly await the second season of The Mandalorian. Looking back at his catalogue of producing and directing credits, we have a lot to be thankful for – Buddy the Elf and Baby Yoda? It’s too much. This year, we’re offering up a gift of our own: a book recommendation for every one of our favorite films.

 

For fans of Buddy the Elf

It’s no secret that we love whimsical characters and misunderstood protagonists over here at Quirk Books. And Buddy the Elf is at the top of our whimsically misunderstood favorites. If you also see Elf as a year-round movie that cannot be contained by “the holidays” and “the month of December,” pick up Kim Smith’s picture book adaptation of this beloved movie. Her bright palate and delightful style pairs perfectly with the Christmas decoration explosion that this Jon Favreau movie showcases. And it’s just plain cute.

Buy the book:

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Books A Million | Bookshop

 

 

For fans of Baby Yoda

So many of us fell in love with Baby Yoda – ahem, The Child – before we even saw a single episode. So it’s only fair that we pair this Disney+ show with William Shakespeare’s The Merry Rise of Skywalker by Ian Doescher, a book you can fall head over heels for without reading a single word by The Bard himself. This intergalactic road trip meets iambic pentameter is a delightful romp through the final movie in the Star Wars saga. And it’s sure to make you giggle. 

Buy the book:

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Books A Million | Bookshop

 

 

For fans of Iron Man and the Marvel Cinematic Universe

While some fans still mourn the end of the Avengers, we’re eagerly awaiting each new arc of the Marvel Cinematic Universe. Jon Favreau sat at the helm of Iron Man and Iron Man 2, so we’re excited to introduce his fans to the Riri Williams, the latest superhero to indulge in Iron Man’s technology. If you’re ready to keep up with the latest and greatest, check out Ironheart: Volume One by Eve Ewing and Kevin Libranda. Because Riri is so incredibly rad and we want everyone to know it!

Buy the book:

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Books A Million | Bookshop

 

 

For fans of food trucks and the movie Chef

If you fell in love with Jon Favreau in Chef—and the innovative and family centric spirit that drives that film—you’ll definitely want to read Kitchens of the Great Midwest by J. Ryan Stradal. It’s a multi-generational story that starts with the perfect tomato and ends with a big savory metaphorical hug. It’s a delicious journey full of community and foodie culture and the way we nourish the people we love. In short, it’s beautiful.

Buy the book:

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Books A Million | Bookshop

 

 

For fans of Cowboys & Aliens

If your favorite Jon Favreau movie of the bunch is Cowboys & Aliens, we have the absolutely perfect book for you: right here at Quirk Books! Fred Van Lente not only wrote the hilarious murder mystery Ten Dead Comedians, he also wrote the 2006 Cowboys & Aliens graphic novel that the movie is based on. What a world! If you’re looking for a fresh and funny take on the Agatha Christie-style mystery, with a heavy dose of genre-defying creativity, look no further.

Buy the book:

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Books A Million | Bookshop


A Book You May Enjoy

Danielle Mohlman's picture

Danielle Mohlman

Danielle Mohlman is a playwright, bookworm, and library connoisseur. You can find her on Twitter and Tumblr. (She has a lot to say.) And on Instagram. (She never foodstagrams.) When she grows up, she wants to be Leslie Knope.