Our Blog

Work It Out

An encouraging fitness book that meets you where you are—even if you’re lying on the floor.

Exercise is the most reliable way to improve mental health. But if you’re depressed, anxious, burned out, or struggling, it may feel impossible to get started, get serious, or even get up.

Written by an autistic personal trainer, Work It Out busts myths about fitness while providing clear, actionable advice on how to:

  • Incorporate exercise into your daily life
  • Build an adjustable workout plan for both good and bad mental health days
  • Shake off the messages that say you’re never doing enough
  • Set up a workout log that motivates you in exactly the way you need
  • Celebrate all your achievements, including getting out of bed
  • But also get a little exercise in bed, if that’s where you are today

Frank, funny, and sympathetic, Work It Out offers realistic tips, encouragement, and dozens of activity ideas for times when exercise is the only thing that will help—and the last thing you want to do.

Posted by Kim Ismael

Goblin Mode

Embrace your inner goblin! Learn to decorate, dress, craft, forage, and live according to the goblin principles of community, diversity, proud weirdness, and joyful mess.

Do you ever feel strange, gross, chaotic, underappreciated, or like you don’t quite fit in? Great news: you might be a goblin! That means your imperfections and idiosyncrasies are the most awesome things about you, and you can build a more balanced, comfortable, harmonious life by accepting and honoring them—taking inspiration from the frogs, fungus, moss, rocks, and dirt that goblins love.

Can a mushroom give you fashion tips? Can a snail teach you to be a better person? You bet they can—and in this book you’ll also learn to:

  • Build a moss garden for your lair
  • Grow and use medicinal plants
  • Forage for berries (even in the city)
  • Mend your cozy sweaters
  • Display your cool rock collection
  • And more!

Anyone can be a goblin, and Goblin Mode includes life advice for celebrating physical and mental diversity, rejecting prejudice, and generally hanging on to a little joy.

Featuring 25 whimsical illustrations by Marian Churchland, Goblin Mode will help you rethink your relationship with your body, your home, your community, and the earth.

Posted by Kim Ismael

Q&A with Julia and Roos, the authors of Good Sh*t

According to the International Foundation for Functional Gastrointestinal Disorders, irritable bowel syndrome (IBS) affects approximately 10-15% of the worldwide population, with 60% to 65% of those suffering reporting as female. This makes IBS a major women’s health issue! And since April is IBS Awareness Month, we talked to the authors of the handbook Good Sh*t: Your Holistic Guide to the Best Poop of your Life about holistically healing the gut.

Posted by Quirk Books Staff

Good Night

For insomniacs, sleep procrastinators, and anyone who wants to improve their sleep hygiene, this friendly handbook will help you focus on catching some zzz’s.

In our busy, hyper-connected times, it can be hard to sleep through the night. But sleep is one of the keys to overall well-being, and if you’re not getting enough of it, it can have a major impact on your physical and mental health.

This handbook from two certified yoga and Ayurveda teachers will help you understand the connection between diet, exercise, stress, and sleep so you can improve the quality of your sleep from every angle. Good Night contains tips and tricks for:

•  Breaking bad habits, from sleep procrastination to bringing devices into bed
•  Navigating health issues that make sleeping through the night difficult
•  Calming your anxious mind and allowing yourself to rest

Simple and effective lifestyle adjustments are all you need to feel like your best, most well-rested self.

Posted by Christina Schillaci

Toil and Trouble

This celebration of forgotten magical women, from Salem to WitchTok, is a fascinating and empowering read for anyone interested in occultism or feminist history.

Meet the mystical women and nonbinary people from US history who found strength through the supernatural—and those who are still forging the way today. From the celebrity spirit mediums of the nineteenth century to contemporary activist witches hexing the patriarchy, women have long used magic and mysticism to seize the power they’re so often denied.

Organized around different approaches women have taken to the occult over the decades—using the supernatural for political gain, seeking fame and fortune as spiritual practitioners, embracing their witchy identities, and more—this book shines a light on underappreciated magical pioneers, including:

• Dion Fortune, who tried to marshal a magical army against Hitler
• Bri Luna, the Hoodwitch, social media star and serious magical practitioner
• Joan Quigley, personal psychic to Nancy Reagan
• Marie Laveau, voodoo queen of New Orleans
• Elvira, queer goth sex symbol who defied the Satanic Panic
• And many more!

Posted by Christina Schillaci

What’s Your Grief?

A friendly and accessible book of 75 lists that will help anyone experiencing a change or loss—for readers of Maggie Smith, Cheryl Strayed, and Katherine May—from the creators of the popular What’s Your Grief website and community.

Losses, big and small, turn your world upside down. What’s Your Grief? will help you through all of them.

Many life changes need to be grieved, from the loss of a loved one to the loss of a job, from a breakup to a relocation, and all the rest of life’s ebbs and flows. In What’s Your Grief?, mental health professionals Eleanor Haley and Litsa Williams help you examine, investigate, and move through the complex but universal experience of grief.

Through seventy-five engaging, informative, and accessible lists, such as to-do (and not-to-do) lists, bucket lists, interactive lists, and more, you’ll discover:

• 5 Little-Known Truths About Grief
• 4 Reasons Guilt Is Even More Complicated Than You Think
• 9 Tips for Communicating What You Do (and Don’t) Need
• 7 Common Defense Mechanisms
• And much more

There’s no single way to experience grief. But this unique book will help you move through whatever it looks like and feels like to you.

Posted by Christina Schillaci