Our Blog

The Bride of the Tornado

Stephen King’s The Mist meets Twin Peaks in this mind-bending horror-thriller about a Midwestern town engulfed by a mysterious plague of tornadoes every generation.

In a small town tucked away in the Midwestern corn fields, the grown-ups whisper about Tornado Day. Our narrator, a high school sophomore, has never heard such a phrase, though she and her friends can feel the weight of those words. The sense of impending doom.

The only thing that stands between the town and total annihilation is a teen boy known as the Tornado Killer. Drawn to this enigmatic boy, our narrator befriends him and begins to sense an unnatural connection between them. But the grown-ups are hiding a secret about the origin of the tornadoes and the Tornado Killer–and it’s more terrifying than our narrator could ever imagine.

Audaciously conceived and steeped in existential dread, this genre-defying novel reveals the mythbound madness at the heart of American life.

Posted by Christina Schillaci

Ghost Eaters

“Clay McLeod Chapman is one of my favorite writers. His books are always white-knuckle reads—blazingly original, gorgeously written, and profoundly chilling.”—Riley Sager, New York Times best-selling author of Survive the Night

“Clay McLeod Chapman’s guided tour of a shroom-and-gloom ghost world, where everyone is addicted to death, reads like a scared straight program that horrifies you into choosing life.”—Grady Hendrix, New York Times best-selling author of The Final Girl Support Group

For fans of Riley Sager and Paul Tremblay, a terrifying supernatural page-turner that explores ghosts, grief, and god complexes.

Ever since their on-again, off-again college romance, Erin hasn’t been able to set a single boundary with charismatic but reckless Silas, who’s been chasing the next big high since graduation. When he texts her to spring him out of rehab, she knows enough is enough. She’s ready to start a career, make new friends, and meet a great guy—even if that means cutting Silas off. But when Silas turns up dead from an overdose, Erin’s world falls apart.

When Erin learns that Silas discovered a drug that allowed him to see the dead, she doesn’t believe it’s real but agrees to a pill-popping “séance” to ease her guilt and pain. When she steps back into the real world, she starts to see ghosts from her Southern hometown’s bloody and brutal past everywhere. Are the effects pharmacological or something more sinister? And will Erin be able to shut the Pandora’s box of horrors she’s opened?

With propulsive momentum, bone-chilling scares, and dark meditations on the weight of history, this Southern horror will make you think twice about opening doors to the unknown.

Posted by Christina Schillaci

Kitchen Garden Box

With the Kitchen Garden Box, gardeners will learn how to collect, store, use, and replant seeds of their favorite tried-and-true vegetables, from squash and cucumbers to peppers, peas, and heirloom tomatoes.

Over the course of 55 conveniently organized cards, gardening guru Mike McGrath provides simple step-by-step instructions, practical tips, and delicious recipes for each veggie. Also included are 10 reusable seed storage envelopes and a coupon redeemable for two free seed packets from Gardens Alive! Gardeners of all ages will enjoy discovering this time-honored, eco-friendly practice and creating something tangible from their labor of love.

Mike McGrath is the host of the nationally syndicated radio show “You Bet Your Garden,®” former editor of Organic Gardening magazine, and author of numerous books on vegetables, gardening, and composting. He grows his own peppers, tomatoes, and other delicious edibles at his home in Pennsylvania.

Posted by impart

The Home Owner’s Manual

Quirk Owner’s Manuals have taught readers how to “repair” and “maintain” babies, toddlers, dogs, and cats. Now we’re tackling the biggest and most complicated “appliance” of all-your home!

Through step-by-step instructions and techy schematic diagrams, The Home Owner’s Manual explores hundreds of frequently asked questions: How can I drain the sludge out of my water heater? What makes my radiators “hiss” at night? Is there any easy way to unstop a toilet? How can I fill a crack in my wall? And when should I seek professional help?

You’ll also find advice on inspecting a new home, moving in, redecorating, emergency maintenance, and much more. With plenty of helpful illustrations to guide you along, The Home Owner’s Manual makes household maintenance a breeze.

DAN RAMSEY, a licensed building and home improvement contractor, has taught thousands of homeowners how to fix things through his Web site, fixitclub.com (hosted by BobVila.com). He lives in Willets, California.

Posted by impart

Home Economics

The phrase “home ec” recalls fusty visions of baking and sewing classes, but this illustrated guide showcases the movement’s true foundations: applying scientific methods to domestic work. Compiled from a wide range of vintage sources, Home Economics is chock-full of thrifty tips, time-tested advice, informative charts, and tasty recipes that gently teach the art and science of housekeeping. Inside is a wealth of information on health and hygiene, shopping and cookery, furnishings and decor, cleaning and safety, and so much more.

Old-fashioned, yes. But outdated? Never! This is real home economics that everyone will be proud to know.

JENNIFER McKNIGHT TRONTZ is the author of several books, including The Good Citizen’s Handbook and How to Be Popular. She lives in New York City.

Posted by impart

Field Guide to Herbs and Spices

Herbs and spices make everything taste better-but can you tell your thyme from your sage? Do you know the difference between akudjura and wattleseed? Where can you find hyssop or rose geranium?

Field Guide to Herbs & Spices is here to help. With color photographs of more than 200 different international seasonings, you’ll soon be flavoring your dishes like a pro. Award-winning chef Aliza Green shows the basic history of these spices (saffron used to be worth more than gold!), its season (if applicable), names in other languages, a recipe featuring the seasoning, and much more. This handy field guide will make all of your meals complete!

ALIZA GREEN is a chef, food writer, and teacher based in Philadelphia. She’s the author of Field Guide to Meat (Quirk, 2005) and Field Guide to Produce (Quirk, 2004) as well as the coauthor of the James Beard-award winning Ceviche!: Seafood, Salads, and Cocktails with a Latino Twist. Visit her on the Web at alizagreen.com.

Posted by impart